Book of Order 1015-2017

In Search of our “Pastor” and where we are in the ’10’ step process

Step Ten – New St Mark Senior Pastor Hired
The Pastor Nominating Committee of St. Mark Presbyterian Church is pleased to introduce The Reverend Dr. J. David Burgess. The Congregation of St. Mark Presbyterian Church has approved Reverend Dr. David Burgess as the new Head of Staff and Senior Pastor at St. Mark. Pastor Dave’s start date with St. Mark Presbyterian Church will be Monday, August 1.

Step Nine – Pastor Nominating Committee Senior Pastoral Search Begins     Started and Posted on the Church Leadership Connection Website

Step Eight – MIF Approved by Committee on Ministry of the Giddings-Lovejoy Presbytery     Approved

Step Seven – Pastor Nominating Committee submission of the MIF to Committee on Ministry of The Giddings-Lovejoy Presbytery     Forwarded

Step Six – Pastor Nominating Committee completion of the Ministry Information Form (MIF)     Completed and Approved by Session

Step Five – Pastor Nominating Committee Formed     Completed and Approved    

Step Four – Ministry Study Report Approved by Committee on Ministry of The Giddings-Lovejoy Presbytery     Approved

Step Three – Ministry Study Report Forward to Committee on Ministry of The Giddings-Lovejoy Presbytery     Received

Step Two – Ministry Study Report Approved by Session     Finished

Step One – Ministry Study Report     Finished


MST Final Report

 UPDATES – Click here for the latest

The Ministry Study Team led the congregation in intentional conversations about St. Mark. Those conversations helped the church gain clarity about its core values; recognize the cultural changes taking place in the world and how it affects our current and future possibilities for growth; and identify our hopes and dreams for the future so we can develop a strategic plan for the next 3-5 years.

Ministry Study Team (MST) – The Elders of Session were charged with selecting those to make up the MST, which will create our Ministry Study Report.  At the December meeting, the Session approved the following people to serve on the MST:  Jan Boehme, Debbie Brown, Bob Lienemann, Kim Michel, John Northrip, Jean Steward, Sharon Yoder.

The Pastor Nominating Committee focused on developing and completing the required Ministry Information Form.  This is the document that will ‘advertise’ St. Mark to potential pastoral candidates; using the Mission Study Report as a guide.

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) – The St Mark Nomination’s Committee were charged with identifying those church members to make up the PNC, which will search for our next Senior Pastor at St Mark.  At the September all church meeting, the Congregation approved the following people to serve on the PNC:  Lauren Arnet, Joyce Blackwell, John Buckhorn, Mark Caplinger, Laurie Dolson, Lili Hostetler, Shelley Lester, and Jean Steward.